Home/Simon Bradley

About Simon Bradley

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Simon Bradley has created 30 blog entries.

Get Into Golf 2020

Get Into Golf We are of the very firm opinion at Skipton Golf Club that we need to get more Ladies and Girls playing golf and are therefore repeating our past successes with the England Golf “Get Into Golf” programme and running Beginner sessions commencing Tuesday 14th January. If you know anybody, friend or family, who might be interested in giving it a try, this is a low cost option with the only outlay being £45 for 8 one hour lessons!  Why not give it as a Christmas present?  If you want any more information then please e-mail us at or call Simon Bradley on 01756 795657 Option 4  

By |2019-12-13T09:18:08+00:00Friday, 13th December, 2019|Categories: Uncategorized|

Skipton Golf Club honours season’s leading performers

Skipton Golf Club held its annual presentation evening to celebrate the winners throughout the season. In the Junior section Jacob Clayton took the Junior Order of Merit award and Alex Topper the Centenary Salver, with Thomas Berry claiming the Junior Future Masters prize. Bobbie Dixon had his hands full with three trophies - the Junior Cup, the Peter Tupling Trophy and Junior Matchplay, with Ethan Wilson awarded the most improved golfer title and Junior Player of the Year. Ethan also claimed two prizes in the men’s section, the Knowles Bowl and Centenary Trophy. The ladies section prizes were dominated by Sarah Coy, who won the Victory Cup, Brooksbank Bowl and Scratch Trophy. The Centenary Quaiche prize went the way of Andrea Walker, who also claimed the Laffoley Cup. The Centenary Trophy winner was Dagmar Hecker-Woodhead and alongside Pat Eaton also took top spot in the Aire Wharfe Trophy. Jo Robinson won her first prize at the club with the YLCGA Centenary Plate, while Sophie Eddison took the Belles Wyke Trophy and Lorraine Reaburn the PK Putter. In the mixed pairs events, Pat Eaton and David Grant won the Raleigh Hargreaves, while husband and wife team, Alex and Anne Acornley, took top spot in the Harold Ideson Trophy. Also in the mixed events, Rob Watson won the New Year Cup and the team of Rob Windle, Steve Robinson, Roger Moore and Josh Carlos the 125th Anniversary Cup. Steve Robinson also won the Rabbits Jubilee Trophy, while Ben Murphy picked up the Liversedge Trophy and John Chacksfield the Rabbits Matchplay in that section. The winter winners were Dave Daggett and John Chacksfield for divisions 1 & 2 in the league format, while Chris Howick won the [...]

By |2019-11-08T10:33:16+00:00Friday, 8th November, 2019|Categories: Clubhouse, Competition Results|

Mixed Open Results held on the 7th of September 2019

Well done to all who took part. The winners with an impressive 90 points M Campbell, L Campbell, D Holding and S Holding win £60 each in 2nd with 82 Points P Brown, J Brown, A Chanley and D Chanley win £50 each and in 3rd with 81 point K Sutcliffe, P Sutcliffe, M Morrison and L Morrison win £40 Each

By |2019-09-09T16:31:06+00:00Monday, 9th September, 2019|Categories: Uncategorized|

Name the Teddy Winner Announced

Teddy’s name is lady pro HYO - JOO -KIM The winner was Joyce Thorpe from Otley Golf Club, who purchased the winning ticket at the club open week. The proceeds went to the Lady Captains Charity, Macmillan Cancer Support .  

By |2019-07-04T08:59:51+00:00Thursday, 4th July, 2019|Categories: Charity|

Mixed Open Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Mixed Open held on the 23rd June. 1st M Depledge & D Pedley 45pts 2nd C Whitehead & A Whitehead 39pts (Countback) 3rd D Lever & J Young 39pts 4th M Marsden & J Marsden 38pts (Countback)

By |2019-06-26T21:14:05+00:00Monday, 24th June, 2019|Categories: Open Results|

Ladies Open Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Ladies Open held on the 21st June. 1st J Walker, J Myers, P Murray, D Clark - 86pts 2nd J Jackson, P Padden, R Corless, M Ainsley - 82pts 3rd D Scholes, C Burrows, R Towler, R Scholes - 78pts 4th J Phillips, M Rush, S Brown, C Nuttal - 76pts

By |2019-06-26T21:15:07+00:00Monday, 24th June, 2019|Categories: Open Results|

Seniors Open Results

Well done to all the teams that played in the Seniors open on the 9th of May 2019. The results are as follows: Winners - A Clarke (Baildon) and  C Timmins (Hollins Hall) 43 Pts Second place - I Gibson and S Gall (Easingwold) 42 Pts Third place - R Clough (Lightcliffe) and A Key (Oakdale) 40 Pts (on countback) We still have spaces in our Opens this year. Book a place now to try our new course layout!

By |2019-05-10T20:21:22+00:00Friday, 10th May, 2019|Categories: Open Results|

BIGGA Awards

Skipton Golf Club greens team honoured in high profile awards   Skipton Golf Club’s head greenkeeper Ian Brown and his hard-working team won through to the finals of the British and International Golf Greenkeepers Association (BIGGA) 2019 Awards for their outstanding contribution to the project to remodel the course.   The team was nominated by the club for the high profile awards, staged as part of BIGGA’s recent Turf Management Exhibition in Harrogate Convention Centre. It was attended by more than 5,000 greenkeepers, trade members, club managers and other representatives, who came together to network and share the latest education and innovation opportunities at Europe’s premier turf management event.   The awards were hosted by the BBC’s Naga Munchetty and both the Skipton greenkeepers and the club said were delighted and honoured to finish as runners-up in the 2019 Greenkeeping Project of the Year.   BIGGA Chief Executive Officer Jim Croxton said: “Congratulations to the team at Skipton Golf Club, who overcame massive challenges to complete an incredible project at their club during 2018. They are a credit to BIGGA and the greenkeeping industry as a whole.”   When the Environment Agency informed Skipton GC of its intention to build a 14-metre high dam across the club’s 16th green and 17th hole as part of the town’s Flood Alleviation Scheme, the greenkeeping team, led by Ian Brown, undertook to completely remodel the existing course with the ambition of making it one of the premier courses in Yorkshire.   Working alongside golf architect David Jones and contractors MJ Abbott and Oliver Sugden, the layout of the course was drastically altered to suite the land available and to improve upon the existing course. The project also [...]

By |2019-04-17T20:27:15+00:00Tuesday, 5th February, 2019|Categories: General news|
Load More Posts